Struggling with the Blues

I ask myself all the time, when will it finally end?, this constant battle with postpartum depression. It can be so frustrating when you finally have a couple good weeks only to be followed by a couple bad. I think only those who have struggled with any kind of depression can truly understand what it is like. 

I often find myself wondering after the end of a truly troubling day how I got through it. How is this affecting my children. They are fed, the are loved, they are cared for everyday. However, they have a mom that may not be as engaged as she otherwise is. The house is typically less put together. It is all to easy to be overcome by guilt and than paralyzed into inactivity. I have faced some truly hard things in my life. It is fair to say that life has never been very easy. Easier than some but still fraught with it’s share of trouble. When will it end?

I recently Googled how long before postpartum depression goes away. Not surprisingly there was no straight answer. I know that there are things that I can do to help, rest, good nutrition,and exercise outside. leaving the house is key but even that can seem unbearable some days.

It has been two weeks already since my last blog and that disappoints me as I wish to blog once a week. However, it is what it is right now and that has to no OK. Being kid to myself is a big thing. When I am in my good days I often find myself being concerned and worried about the next set of bad days. This last time I tried to just focus and be grateful for the good days. I would like to think this helped me enjoy them more. I have also been through this enough to know that the good days come again.

So fellow bloggers and followers I apologize that this entry is not more glitzy, that it contains no links, or cool information. This is we checking in and keeping it real.

Till next time 🙂

3 thoughts on “Struggling with the Blues

  1. Feel better soon!! I could only imagine what a struggle it is to deal with all the tasks that you have and to cope with postpartum depression. I’ve been depressed in the past so I know how much of a silent struggle it is. But you can’t worry or focus on the bad days you’ve had or the bad days you anticipate. Recognize the good in front of you (especially your two beautiful kids) and live in that moment of happiness. You’re doing as much as you need to. Be kind to yourself and know that you’re valuable and worthy of true happiness. In the moments that you feel down just pray. I don’t know if you’re religious or not, but prayer is a healing tool. Talk to God, he hears you! God bless! 💜

    Like

Leave a Reply

